Temporary restrictions on entry to Russia by foreign citizens and persons without citizenship

Russian Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin has signed a Government resolution imposing a temporary entry ban for foreign nationals and persons without nationality for a period from March 18 until further notice as a measure to prevent the spread of the novel coronavirus.

The ban will not be applicable to employees of diplomatic missions and consular establishments in Russia, drivers of motor vehicles serving international routes, aircraft, ship and railway crews, members of official delegations, holders of diplomatic, service and regular private visas arriving in Russia due to the death of a close relative, and transit air passengers.

The Russian interior ministry and its territorial divisions were instructed to suspend the issuance of entry invitations and permits for the use of foreign nationals as labor migrants. The foreign ministry was instructed to suspend visa issuance to the above mentioned categories of people and notify foreign states about these measures.